• 81°
Hartselle Enquirer
Hartselle Chamber of Commerce Board: Grant McKelvey, Chris Widner, Scott Stadthagen, Kathy Summerford, Mike Swafford, Olivia Adams Maze, Dena Davis Nagel, Chuck Gill, RaJane Chadwick Hampton, Daniel Copeland and Danielle Gibson. | Jennifer Weddington

Hartselle Chamber annual meeting/awards banquet

Staff Report

Hartselle Enquirer

The Hartselle Area Chamber of Commerce held its 2016-2017 Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet on Friday, April 7 at The Burleson Center in Hartselle. This event marks a turning point in the chamber’s activities each year as it recognizes outgoing members of its board of directors, in addition to new incoming board members.

The 2017-2018 Directors include Dr. Chuck Gill of Morgan Animal Hospital, Dena Nagel of Journey’s by Design Travel and Tours, Kathy Summerfor of It’s Your Day Florist and Gifts, Dr. Chris Widner of Widner Family Dentistry, Dr. Franklin Penn, RaJane Hampton of United Country Four Oaks Realty and Auction, Mike Swafford, Grant McKelvey of McKelvey Technologies and Greg Byrd of MarMac Real Estate.

Outgoing chamber board members included Arthur Peck of Peck Funeral Home, Rob Payne of Edward Jones investments and Janan Downs of Zoey’s Downtown.

Another highlight of the evening involved awards and recognition of area residents and business owners who have made contributions to the chamber’s efforts to promote the Hartselle area.

The winner of the Dr. Thomas M. Guyton Humanitarian Award was Robert Peck of Peck Funeral Home and was presented by Mayor Randy Garrison. The John J. Sparkman Citizenship Award went to Senator Arthur Orr and was presented by Scott Stadthagen.  Shannon Parker of Enquirer Printing was recognized with The E.R. Roberts Business Award which was presented by Dena Nagel. The Tommy Ed Roberts Civic Award winner was Robert (Bobby Carl) Francis and was presented by Don Stisher. Faye Walker was named Ambassador of the year.

Outgoing Chairman Daniel Copeland spoke about his year in leading the chamber and conducted the passing of the gavel to the incoming chairman Scott Stadthagen.

Stadthagen took a moment to recognize Senator Arthur Orr, County Commissioner Chuck Gill and School Board member Daxton Maze and thanked them for their commitment to the chamber and its efforts to have an impact on the Hartselle community. He then thanked the board members who placed their confidence in him to lead the board for the coming year.

“It is with excitement that I look ahead to the opportunity to continue on the path that we’ve begun” Stadthagen stated.

He then recognized the hard work of the chamber staff consisting of Chamber President Danielle Gibson and Administrative Assistant Crystal Schutt, and the people who serve as chamber ambassadors. “We thank you for your dedication and commitment day in and day out” he noted.

In closing Stadthagen stated that, “we as a chamber plan to put our strengths together to help promote Hartselle’s economic, civic and social benefits to our residents that call Hartselle home. We look forward to keeping tried and true traditions while also incorporating new ideas that will generate a solid path forward for Hartselle”.

This was the first black and white dress event and the first banquet to be held The Burleson Center which used to be a school. Dinner was prepared by the Freight House.