• 41°

Hartselle Dixie softball teams win at district

Hartselle’s Dixie Ponytails all-stars won district tournament honors last week and are headed to the state tournament in Scottsboro on July 15. Team members, from left, are: (first row) Abbey Vinzant, Morgan Phillips, Calli Partlow, Lauren Speer, Kaylee Murphy and Laninya Wiggins; (second row) Serra Harris, Kennadi Hogan, Hannah Hogan, Annslee Green, Jasmine Jones and Lindsey Robinson; (Third row) Coaches Willie Jones, Buddy Robinson, Kenny Hogan, head, and Skip Drinkard.

Two of Hartselle’s three Dixie Softball all-star teams are headed to the state tournament after defeating their opponents in the finals of district tournaments last week.

Hartselle’s11-12 Ponytails and 7-8 Darlings remain unbeaten in their bids for a World Series title. The Ponytails defeated Underwood 10-5 in the final of the district tournament at Rogersville and the Darlings toppled Decatur 11-4 in the final at Underwood.

Both teams will compete in the state tournament, beginning July 15 at Scottsboro for the right to represent Alabama in the Dixie Softball World Series.

The Ponytails outscored their district opponents 57 runs to 18 and got consistent strong pitching from five players.

“They’re all hitting the ball well and seem to pick up the tempo when their opponents have their fastest pitchers on the mound,” said head coach Kenny Hogan. “Our pitchers have also come through for us and the defense is playing error-free ball.”

“Our plan is to practice hard for the next two weeks in preparation for the state tournament,” he added.

Hartselle’s Darlings completed a clean sweep of its competition in post-season play by defeating Decatur 11-4 in the final game of the district tournament at Underwood Thursday night.

The win earned the all-stars a berth in the state tournament for the sixth consecutive season. They will face seven other district winners and a host team at Scottsboro beginning July 15 to determine Alabama’s representative at the 2011 Dixie Softball World series.

Hartselle Darlings captured a World Series title in 2008 and finished as the runner-up team in 2009 and 2010.

Team members are Allie Anders, Kenzie Chumley, Braylie Coffey, Chaney Dutton, Anna Ferguson, Tori Hughes, Jessica Jarrett, Brooke Nelson, Abby Schonebaum, Maggie Smith and Presley Weldon. Coaches are Brandon Dutton, head, Michael Chumley, Shannon Ferguson, Benji Hughes and Dusty Winsett.