• 50°
Hartselle Enquirer

County part of disaster area

By Staff
Lack of rain and high temperatures have prompted the U.S. Government to declare 48 Alabama counties, including Morgan County, as natural disaster areas.
The declaration will clear the way for many affected by the drought, especially farmers, to receive federal assistance.
"High temperatures and lack of rain are taking a real toll on our farmers. There's been a little rain lately, but drought conditions continue in many parts of the state. This step will provide some real help for our farmers," Governor Riley and Commissioner Sparks said in a joint statement.
"We greatly appreciate Secretary Johanns and our congressional delegation for working with us on this important effort."
Additional contiguous counties are also eligible for assistance.
This designation makes farmers in both primary and contiguous counties eligible for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency, provided eligibility requirements are met.
Interested farmers should contact local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at: http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov.