• 91°
Hartselle Enquirer

Morgan County Leadership Hall of Fame inductees

Lauren Estes

Hartselle Enquirer

The Morgan County Schools Foundation announced the 2017 class of inductees to the Morgan County Leadership Hall of Fame.

The 2017 class of inductees included: Mr. Bill Dukes, Mr. Paul Henderson, Mr. George Nancarrow and Ms. Faye Walker.

Mr. Bill Dukes – A former five-term Mayor of Decatur and four-term member of the Alabama House of Representatives. Dukes led Decatur through many years of successful growth and was an active volunteer in the community. He served organizations such as Lions Club, Rotary Club, and was a champion for Dixie Youth Baseball. He received awards for his service from each organization. Dukes was also inducted into the Morgan County Sports Hall of Fame in 2000. Mr. Dukes is being inducted posthumously.

Mr. Paul Henderson – Co-founder of Encore Rehabilitation, Inc., the largest privately owned Rehabilitation Company in the Southeast. Henderson is a graduate of Falkville High School, the University of Alabama-Birmingham and the University of South Alabama. He pioneered sideline sports injury coverage in Morgan County, which Encore now leads across the state as the official athletic training and rehabilitation provider for the Alabama High School Athletic Association. This sideline coverage serves over 45,000 high school and college athletes.

Mr. George Nancarrow – Former Morgan County School’s superintendent, principal, coach and teacher. Mr. Nancarrow led the establishment of Morgan County’s first consolidated high school (A.P. Brewer). His leadership also guided Morgan County Schools through the period of desegregation without federal oversight. While principal at West Morgan High School, Nancarrow welcomed Morgan County’s first black student prior to statutory desegregation. He has never retired from community service and currently volunteers for Meals on Wheels.

Ms. Faye Walker – former Morgan County School’s director and teacher. Ms. Walker is a graduate of Cotaco High School, the University of North Alabama and Auburn University. Her distinguished 50-year career as an educator touched thousands of students. Ms. Walker played an instrumental role in developing key policies and obtaining grants for Morgan County Schools. Some of these include the development of the vocational school at Brewer and the system’s steps during desegregation. Ms. Walker has received numerous professional and community service awards and still serves her community as a volunteer in Hartselle

The Foundation will also recognize other award recipients during the celebration of leadership, including the President’s Pioneer Award, Community Leader of the Year Award, and Corporate Leader of the Year Award.

Doors will open on March 9, 2017, at the DoubleTree Riverside in Decatur at 5:30pm with a silent auction. Dinner and the program will begin at 6:30pm and end at 8:30pm. Individual registration for the event is $50 per person and may be obtained on the Foundation’s website: www.morgancoschoolsfoundation.com.