• 75°
Hartselle Enquirer

Hartselle corn grower earns state honors in national contest 

Special to the Enquirer  

A commitment to continuous improvement in environmental and economic sustainability.  

A contribution to the body of agronomic research that pushes the needle forward on efficiency.  

An innate call to be one’s personal best. 

It is this steadfast spirit the National Corn Growers Association tips its hat to every year in salute to farmers across the country for their efforts and exceptional results in the National Corn Yield Contest. In this year’s contest, a Hartselle farmer is among the winners.  

Through their efforts, NCGA members contributed valuable data that will help all growers overcome obstacles as they continue to drive efficient and sustainable agricultural production.  

Forrest Anders of Hartselle placed second in the nation in the A: Conventional Non‐Irrigated Class with a yield of 279.3484 bushels per acre. The hybrid used in the winning field was Pioneer P2089VYHR.  

Anders was one of 530 state winners nationwide.  

The 2021 contest participation included 7,213 entries from 47 states. Of the state winners, 27 growers – three from each of nine classes – were named national winners, representing 14 states. 

“The National Corn Yield Contest provides a special two‐fold opportunity — contribute to the knowledge that will help corn farmers thrive in the future while enjoying good‐natured competition and camaraderie with their peers today,” said Lowell Neitzel, chair of the NCGA’s Member and Consumer Engagement Action Team. “At its core, NCGA shapes dynamic, change‐driven farmers, from the grassroots activists speaking up on policy issues to the dedicated farmer leaders who lead our organization. 

“As farmers, we always strive to do more with less,” Neitzel noted. “We innovate using data, technology and hard‐won expertise. We work tirelessly to leave our farms better for the next generation, with gratitude to those who cared for it before us.  

“I invite new and old faces alike to enter the contest in 2022. I urge you to learn how to start making that positive change today by going to ncga.com.”