• 57°
Hartselle Enquirer

School board approves action, personnel items at June 8 meeting

Special to the Enquirer

At its regular meeting June 8, the Hartselle City Schools board approved several action items, including an amendment to the 2021 budget, the disposal of old textbooks that are no longer being used at BBES, a $20 per-student fee for students participating in the Barkley Bridge STEM Accelerator Academy June 20-21 and the acceptance of 11 additional out-of-district students.

Retirements, resignations, employments, transfers, stipends and supplements were among the personnel items also approved by the school board:

—Regina Hames retired from the position of elementary teacher at Crestline Elementary School, effective Sept. 1.

—In resignations, Wendy Hembree resigned as elementary teacher at F.E. Burleson Elementary School, effective with the end of the 2020-21 school year; Brittany Peak resigned as math teacher at Hartselle Junior High School, effective immediately; Alex Garrison resigned as instructional aide at Hartselle Junior High School, effective June 4; Brooke Sawyer-Woodard resigned as elementary teacher at Crestline Elementary, effective June 7; and John Rodgers resigned as strength and conditioning coach at Hartselle High School and Hartselle Junior High School, effective June 8.

—In transfers, Madison Gillette transferred from instructional aide at Crestline Elementary to special education teacher at F.E. Burleson Elementary, and Denise Wigginton transferred from secretary at Hartselle Junior High School to secretary at Hartselle High School – both effective with the beginning of the 2021-22 school year.

—New employees include: Dana Jetton as school counselor at Barkley Bridge Elementary, Whitney Blackman as an elementary teacher at F.E. Burleson Elementary, Collins Hanners as science teacher at Hartselle Intermediate, Jerry Fulks as social studies teacher at Hartselle High, Ashley Symonds as a special education teacher at Hartselle Junior High, Lauren Ferguson as a 10-month counselor at Hartselle High School, Amy Godwin as a math teacher at Hartselle High, Amber Deline as a physical education teacher at Hartselle High, Katie Mennano as a special education teacher based at the central office, Jacob Cole as an instructional aide based at the central office to be assigned to schools and Nick Pershin as a summer student custodial worker at Hartselle Junior High.

—Stipends and supplements include Keith Beatty, Brenda Halbrooks, David Robinson, Dudley Sharp and Keith Wright as bus drivers for the Summer Academy; Amy Robinson, Jessica Wimberley, Candice McCaghren and Rhonda Russell for Kindergarten Camp at Crestline; Kesha Dotson, Whitney Clemons, Amy Cole, Julie Downs and Katie Davis for Kindergarten Camp at F.E. Burleson; Sabrena Pierce to teach summer school June 21-24; Nelda Knight as a bus aide; Stacy Drake, Jennifer Gillott and Wynette Orr for the 2021 Summer Academy; and Sandra Schmidt to train HCS staff in SAMA de-escalation techniques.