• 55°

No runoff needed in Hartselle election

Hartselle experienced a low voter turnout today in its municipal election with a little more than 1,500 votes being cast, according to city attorney Larry Madison, who read the unofficial results at the end of the regular meeting of the Hartselle City Council.

Madison said the results will not be official until the election is canvassed Sept. 1 at noon.

No runoff election is needed, though, and the winners of the four seats on the ballot are as follows:

Ken Doss won the three-man race for the seat left vacant by Matthew Broom on the Hartselle City Council with 58.6 percent of the vote. Incumbent Virginia Alexander kept her seat on the council, defeating challenger Travis Smith, with more than 1,000 votes.

Daxton Maze beat out John Griffith to keep his seat on at Place Four of the Hartselle City Schools Board of Education; and Monty Vest beat incumbent Amy Pace for her Place One seat.


Council Place 4

Virginia Alexander, 1091, 67.43%

Travis Smith, 527, 32.57%

Council Place 5

Ken Doss, 937, 58.60%

Brandon McMurry, 562, 35.15%

Bryan T. Smith, 100, 6.25%

School board Place 1

Monty M. Vest, 896, 55.97%

Amy Pace, 705, 44.03%

School board Place 4

John S. Griffith, 539, 32.95%

Daxton Maze, 1097, 67.05%

The newly elected officials will begin their terms Nov. 3.