• 57°
Hartselle Enquirer
Priceville’s Jenna Walker dribbles the ball up court in the Lady Bulldogs’ victory of West Morgan in the Area Tournament Semi-Finals earlier this year. Walker is one of four area players to be named to the ASWA All-State Teams. Special to the Enquirer/Kristi Duran

Four area players named to All-State Basketball Teams

Four players from the Hartselle Enquirer’s coverage area were named to the Alabama Sports Writers Association all-state teams.

Hartselle’s Brody Peebles was named to the 6A Boys First Team while Priceville’s Jenna Walker was named to the 4A Girls First Team.

Peebles averaged 29.1 points, 2.6 rebounds, 1.7 assists, and 2.1 steals in leading the Tigers to the Northwest Regional Finals. He has committed to play for Liberty.

“It’s an incredible blessing to be named to the All-State team,” said Peebles. “Anytime you work hard and put a lot of effort into something it feels great to be recognized. My coaches and team deserve a lot of credit for trusting me and allowing me to be myself.”

Walker averaged 14.1 points, 3.2 rebounds, 5.4 assists, and 2.5 steals in leading the Lady Bulldogs to the Northwest Regional Semi-Finals. She has committed to Western Kentucky.

“I’m very honored to be named by the ASWA as a First Team All-State Player in 4A,” said Walker. “I am on a list of amazing players and feel nothing but gratefulness to be there.”

Hartselle’s Masyn Marchbanks was named 6A Girls Honorable Mention and Danville’s KJ Melson was named 4A Boys Honorable Mention.

Marchbanks averaged 16.4 points, 3.5 rebounds, 2.7 assists, and 3.5 steals for the Lady Tigers. Melson averaged 20 points, 3.4 rebounds, 2.7 assists, and 1.3 steals for the Hawks.

Marchbanks said that she was thankful to see the hard work she put in leading up to her injury was honored.

“I am proud to be acknowledged alongside so many other great players,” said Melson. “I work hard every day to be better than I was yesterday. I couldn’t have accomplished anything without my teammates or great coaching staff.”

Each classification gets five first-team, second-team, third-team all-state players, and up to four additional players per class can earn honorable mention.

Hartselle’s Faron Key was named boys basketball coach of the year in Class 6A.