• 52°

Personnel actions by county BOE

Morgan County School Board acted on a wide range of personnel matters, ranging from contract non-renewals to notices of resignation at its May 19 meeting. Personnel changes approved are listed as follows:

Contract non-renewals

Certified personnel—Anthony Drinkard, health, and Jessica Thompson, resource teacher, Brewer High School; Kristy Oldacre, kindergarten, Cotaco School; Amanda Willingham, second grade, Danville-Neel Elementary; Shelly Holmes, Spanish (part-time), Lindsay McKinney, history, and Stacie Vengrouskie, science, Danville High; Meagan Brecher, sixth grade, Heather Collier, third grade, Bethany Franklin, math, and Tracie Turrentine, fourth grade, Eva School;

Carol Jones, math, and Jacyln Prance, JAG specialist, Falkville High; Linda Hammonds, science, Johnathon Lacy, physical education, and Richard Corey Stewart, history, Lacey’s Spring School; April Childers, art (half-time), Leah Harper, music (half-time), and Tara Sivley, third grade, Priceville Elementary; Jason Teichmiller, seventh grade English, and Sam Wallace, sixth grade math, Priceville Junior High; Dale Brown, science, Ben Estes, history, Anna Hodges, English DeWanna Howard, counselor, and Clint Putman, Priceville High;

Melea Garner, Title I, Brett Moneyham, third and fourth grades combined, Katie Pursall, second grade, and Haley Winton, kindergarten, Ryan School; Carla Gibson, kindergarten, Nina Jones, first grade, and Mary Moore, math, Sparkman School; Jennifer Blocker, first grade, Union Hill School; Mindy Pflue’-ger, special education, West Morgan Elementary; Josh Sawyer, seventh and eighth grade science, West Morgan Middle School; and Melanie Dickerson, history, Gary Pressley, math, and Kathy Stutts, general and physical science, West Morgan High.

Support personnel—Kimberly Sue Cryer, Child nutrition program, Brewer High; Ramona Tripp, CNP (part-time) Danville High; Michelle Margotte, CNP, and Flaudie Ann Waldrop, custodian (part-time), Eva School; Danielle Hayes, custodian (part-time), Falkville Elementary; Amy Keel, literacy lab aide, Lacey’s Spring School; John Tuttle custodian, Priceville Elementary; Allison Rhodes, secretary, and Savannah Leeth, computer lab aide, Ryan School; Nancy Elmore, custodian, (part-time), Union Hill School; and Melissa Baxter, ISS/office aide, West Morgan Elementary.


The following notices of retirement were approved: Mary Ellen Holmes, family and consumer science, effective July 1, and Lydia Gann, life skills, effective June 1, Priceville Elementary; Stephani Latimer, second grade, effective June 1, and Theresa a  Mayfield, effective June 1, Priceville Elementary; Marsha Thomas, art (half-time) effective June 1, Priceville High; Richard Verchot, computer technology, effective June 1, Union Hill School; Judy Caudle, librarian, effective June 1, West Morgan Elementary;

Amie Estes, fifth grade, West Morgan Middle and Rita Jackson, counselor, West Morgan High, effective June 1;

William David Holmes, custodian, effective July 1, Eva School; Norma Beverly, CNP manager and Joyce St., John, bus driver and express route driver, Priceville Elementary, both effective June 1; Diane Ferrell, bookkeeper, effective July 1, West Morgan Elementary; Brenda Linderman, Special Education aide, countywide, effective June 2; Corey Cheatham, bus driver, countywide, and Dalton Rezac, custodian, Brewer High, effective April 27.


Robert E. Smith Jr., custodian, effective April 29, Priceville Junior High and Rita Jackson, counselor, effective June 1, West Morgan High.

Leave of absence returnees

Lori Oden, English, Brewer High; Valerie Blaske, third grade, and Sovonna Brown, math, Eva School; Laura Hensley, English, Priceville High; Brandy Quattlebaum, kindergarten, Sparkman School; Tara Forrest, fourth grade, and Marley Smith, reading coach, Union Hill School, and Amy Ellis, special education, and Jessica Wheeler, talented and gifted program, countywide.

Leave of absence

Carrie Warden, first grade, effective for the 2100-2012 school year, Union Hill School.

Three-year principal contracts

Shane Patrick Smith, Falkville Elementary; Jimmy Scott, Cotaco School; Patrick Patterson, Eva School; Mary Speegle, Priceville Junior High; Sue Wood, Falkville High; Lane Alexander, Lacey’s Spring School; and Jill Jones, Morgan County Learning Center.