• 88°
Hartselle Enquirer

HHS honors teams at banquet

By Staff
Staff Reports, Hartselle Enquirer
Hartselle High School honored its winter sport athletes on Monday night and the biggest honor went to the state championship wrestling team.
Rep. Ronald Grantland read a resolution from the state legislature saluting the 5A champs to cap off an evening of awards and praise for the girls' and boys' basketball teams, basketball and wrestling cheerleaders and the state champion grapplers.
Tiger hoops awards
The highest grade point average award went to senior Alex Thompson, who is posting a 4.21 GPA so far this year. Senior Keith Rodgers, who was named honorable mention on the ASWA All-State team over the weekend, won the highest scoring, most rebounds and most assists awards. Rodgers surpassed the 1,000-point and 500-rebound plateaus this season. The most steals award went to senior Samuel Massey. Chase Lusk and Eric Norwood received the team captain awards, an honor voted on by their teammates.
Lady Tiger hoops awards
Sophomore Lauren Drake, who like Rodgers was named honorable mention All-State by the ASWA, won three awards, the most blocked shots, the most rebounds and most steals.
Jessica Andrews won the free throw shooting award, after making 83 percent of her foul shots. In addition, Andrews took home the most assists awards.
Freshman Anna Reeves took home the three-point shooting award after nailing 41 percent of her shots from beyond the arc.
Sophomore Mary Virginia Reeves won the Katie Long Hustle award. Reeves was described by head coach Greg Adams as one of the best athletes he has ever coached.
Shan Jones and Lauren Drake received team captain awards after a vote by their teammates.
Jones, who missed much of last season with a torn ACL, will return next year for her senior season on the cusp of a career milestone. Jones will enter the 2005-06 season with 980 career points, just 20 points shy of the 1,000-point mark.
Tiger wrestling awards
Six Tiger grapplers were presented plaques to commemorate surpassing the 100 career wins on the mat. The six were Dennis Smith, Hunter Brasher, Adam Faulk, Kurt Hamilton, Luke Mize and Corey Farmer.
Senior Travis Lightle won three awards. He took home the most pins award, the most improved wrestler and the most outstanding wrestler trophies.
Luke Mize won the most takedowns awards, while junior Brad Eubanks won the highest GPA award.
Hamilton and Farmer were voted the team captain awards by their teammates.
After the wrestlers received their awards Rep. Grantland took the podium and read the resolution which was greeted with a standing ovation from the crowd.