• 48°

Tigers take second at Huntsville Invitational

By Staff
Staff Reports, Hartselle Enquirer
The Hartselle Tiger wrestling team opened the 2004-05 season with a second place finish at the 16-team Huntsville Invitational tournament.
The only team to finish ahead of the Tiger grapplers was Bradley-Central, Tenn., a nine-time Tennessee state champion.
Hartselle had four wrestlers win their weight classes and four others who finished second or third.
Freshman Rico Elliot won the 103-pound class, while Corey Farmer took the title in the 152-pound class. Kurt Hamilton took the 160-pound class and Adam Faulk took the 189-pound title.
Luke Mize took second place in the 135-pound class, while Andrew Durham took third at 112 pounds.
Hunter Brasher took third at 130 pounds, while Travis Lightle took third at 215 pounds.
Dennis Smith took fourth at 140 pounds, while Caleb Blanton posted a 2-2 record at 125 pounds. Andrew Watson wrestled at 145 pounds and won one match out of three, while Jake Watkins went 1-2 at the 171-pound class.
Heavyweight Brad Eubanks went 2-2 during the tournament.
B-team results
The Tiger B-team had three finishers in the top three. JD Glenn won the 215-pound class, while Dallas Kalber took third at 152 pounds and Matt Zartuche took third at 160 pounds.
Junior Varsity results
Four junior varsity Tigers, coached by Jonathan Bragwell placed at the tournament, including two-second places, one third and one fourth.
Blake Sumerel took second place at 135 pounds, while Ethan Hamilton also took second at 175 pounds. Barrett Eubanks took third in the 165-pound class and Jacob Watson took fourth at 95 pounds.
Other team members who wrestled in the tournament were: Doug Albers, Garrett Baldwin, Wade Blaylock, Matthew George, Bradley Gurganious, Steven Hames, Tyler Hill, Patrick Wallace, Zachary Hill, Skylar Sain, Isaac Shelton, Cody Thompson and Dustin Smith.
The Tigers will open their home schedule on Dec. 14, when they host Class 6A power Sparkman and 5A Southside-Gadsen at the Pettey Center.
The matches begin at 5:30 p.m.