• 57°
Hartselle Enquirer

If you like his column, you'll love his book

By Staff
Grammer writes book on his experiences growing up in Hartselle and playing for "The Bear."
Nick Johnston, Hartselle Enquirer
It's finally here.
Jim Grammer's new book, "The Long Gravel Road to Bama," has hit shelves at the Book Cellar in Hartselle. Grammer, a columnist for the Hartselle Enquirer, shares stories of growing up with his brother, Richard, and other friends in and around Hartselle.
The book tells about his time at The University of Alabama, and how he handled his brother's, along with other's, deaths.
"A lot of it is about people here in Hartselle and the experiences we had with those people," Grammer said. "Some are good, some are bad. And I hope this book does well and it's something people will enjoy."
In his book, Grammer talks about attending Flint Elementary School, living and working on the farm with his brother and playing little league baseball in Hartselle.
He talks about his high school football days and the guys he played with, like Johnny Newman. He also talks about the recruiting process and how his group in school suffered many tragedies.
"I tell some of the bitter truth," Grammer said. "I give some insight that common guy doesn't have. Like at Alabama, it wasn't all just glory. There were a lot of hard times."
But Grammer hasn't always been as open about his experiences. He has seen a lot of tragedy in his life, and said he wanted to put everything in his past aside.
"I thought, 'What's wrong with me? Why don't I want to reminisce about my life?" he said. "Sure, there were good times, but there were a lot of bad times, too. I just wanted to put all of it aside."
Grammer has been writing columns for nearly a year for the Hartselle Enquirer. He has been working on this book for close to three years.
His books serves another large purpose rather than telling everybody of his experiences, though.
"My first thought was this is something I would like to tell me kids and grandchildren," Grammer said. "If they want to know what their grandfather did, here it is."
His book is on sale at The Book Cellar in Hartselle at a price of $35. Or, send a SASE to "The Long Gravel Road to Bama," 1707 Brookwood Drive, Hartselle, AL, 35640, along with a check for $35.

Editor's picks

Cheers to the golden years: Columbia Cottage honors two centenarians 

Eva

Eva celebrates annual Frontier Days

Hartselle

Hartselle man guilty of rape of juvenile 

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Hartselle Police Department looks to fill six positions  

Falkville

Falkville sets agenda for 25th fall festival 

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

New manufacturing program at Hartselle, Limestone schools 

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Home Sweet Hartselle mural painted on Sparkman Street

Hartselle

Hartselle woman named to Inno under 25 

Hartselle

Volunteers, sponsors needed for Stars Over Hollywood prom 

Hartselle

Crowd gathers for 41st annual Depot Days 

Decatur

A heart for the arts: Hartselle art program receives River Clay grant

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Chiropractor released after charge of poisoning wife back in jail  

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Morgan employees in line for 5 percent pay hike  

Hartselle

Chiropractor charged with poisoning wife released on bond 

Editor's picks

Hartselle homecoming kick-off showcases school spirit

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Depot Days returns Saturday  

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Fitness Court unveiled at Sparkman Park  

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Hartselle man allegedly poisoned wife with lead in murder attempt  

Hartselle

Crestline students enjoy third annual Ag Day

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Highway 36 reopens east of Hartselle 

At a Glance

Hartselle man eludes police, arrested on possession charges

Breaking News

Hartselle man arrested for attempted murder of wife

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

In the community: Highflying fun

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Hartselle City Schools second graders kick off civic education

x