• 66°
Hartselle Enquirer

If you like his column, you'll love his book

By Staff
Grammer writes book on his experiences growing up in Hartselle and playing for "The Bear."
Nick Johnston, Hartselle Enquirer
It's finally here.
Jim Grammer's new book, "The Long Gravel Road to Bama," has hit shelves at the Book Cellar in Hartselle. Grammer, a columnist for the Hartselle Enquirer, shares stories of growing up with his brother, Richard, and other friends in and around Hartselle.
The book tells about his time at The University of Alabama, and how he handled his brother's, along with other's, deaths.
"A lot of it is about people here in Hartselle and the experiences we had with those people," Grammer said. "Some are good, some are bad. And I hope this book does well and it's something people will enjoy."
In his book, Grammer talks about attending Flint Elementary School, living and working on the farm with his brother and playing little league baseball in Hartselle.
He talks about his high school football days and the guys he played with, like Johnny Newman. He also talks about the recruiting process and how his group in school suffered many tragedies.
"I tell some of the bitter truth," Grammer said. "I give some insight that common guy doesn't have. Like at Alabama, it wasn't all just glory. There were a lot of hard times."
But Grammer hasn't always been as open about his experiences. He has seen a lot of tragedy in his life, and said he wanted to put everything in his past aside.
"I thought, 'What's wrong with me? Why don't I want to reminisce about my life?" he said. "Sure, there were good times, but there were a lot of bad times, too. I just wanted to put all of it aside."
Grammer has been writing columns for nearly a year for the Hartselle Enquirer. He has been working on this book for close to three years.
His books serves another large purpose rather than telling everybody of his experiences, though.
"My first thought was this is something I would like to tell me kids and grandchildren," Grammer said. "If they want to know what their grandfather did, here it is."
His book is on sale at The Book Cellar in Hartselle at a price of $35. Or, send a SASE to "The Long Gravel Road to Bama," 1707 Brookwood Drive, Hartselle, AL, 35640, along with a check for $35.

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Scholarship named after 4-year-old killed by dog; no criminal charges expected  

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Sheriff’s academy open for registration

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Local business launches ‘Play It Forward’ program to support local families  

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

UPDATE: Child dies after being attacked by dog in Hartselle

Breaking News

Child attacked by dog in Hartselle

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Local legend retires after 34 years at Hartselle Pizza Hut

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Hartselle soccer teams sweep Morgan County Tournament

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Hartselle gears up for future growth: City seeks input for new comprehensive plan 

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Severe weather preparedness sales tax holiday begins tomorrow

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

‘I hope it fuels them’: Hartselle turns focus to next season after Elite Eight loss

At a Glance

Students advance to final round in 3D CAD competition

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Woman accused of pushing Hartselle woman off cliff writes letter to judge 

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Hartselle Drama makes a splash with “The SpongeBob Musical” 

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Hartselle woman marks 28th anniversary of heart transplant 

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Woman killed in Somerville house fire identified

At a Glance

Child Safety Conference set for March 5

Editor's picks

Decatur Morgan Hospital getting Safe Haven Baby Box 

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Annual tree giveaway set for March 6 

At a Glance

Hartselle native joins American Angus Association  

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

FlashFiber celebrates 10,000th customer 

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Alleged shooter in murder-for-hire case to stand trial in October 

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Garbage routes altered for Presidents Day

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

College Street Players to present magical production of Peter Pan Jr.  

FRONT PAGE FEATURED

Hundreds dazzle at annual Cinderella Ball 

x