• 68°
Hartselle Enquirer

Hartselle's best honored at banquet

By Staff
Staff reports
Monday night at the Hartselle High School lunchroom, some of the schools finest were honored at the annual Fall Sports Banquet.
The football team, volleyball team, swim team and cheerleading squad was all honored on the night, as coaches from each squad gave a few words on their team and leaving seniors.
Stanley Gill was in attendance and was inducted into the Hartselle Football Hall of Fame. Gill made a rather humorous speech with advice ranging from "listen to your parents and coaches" to "keep your pants up, you don't need them down at your knees."
All football players received a certificate and a T-shirt from head football coach Mike Smith.
Most Valuable Players also were named in different positions: Adam Davidson, MVP Defensive Lineman; Brett Byford, MVP Offensive Lineman; Brad Spivey, MVP Defensive Back; Jeremy Orr, MVP Offensive Back; Ben Atchison, MVP Linebacker; Nikita Stover, MVP Receiver; Tron Meadows, MVP Special Teams; Kevin Jones, Most Improved; Trey Clark, Hustle Award; Kevin Jones, MVP Offensive Player; Ben Atchison MVP Defensive Player; Hodge Patterson, MVP Senior.
Volleyball head coach Tanya Lybarger gave highlights of her Lady Tigers' season and honored her only two seniors, Regan Sandlin and Holly Kilgore.
Both seniors were recognized as captains and given gifts.
Lybarger also listed accomplishments of this past season and announced the season leaders in every statistical category: Kilgore, Best Serve Percentage; Sandlin, Most Aces (62); Sandlin, Most Kills
(409); Sarah McNutt, Best Kill Percentage (44 percent); Kilgore, Most Assists (657); McNutt, Most Blocks (215); Anna Byrd, Most Digs (190), Easton Eubanks, Most Improved.
Lybarger named Sandlin the team's Most Valuable Player for the 2002 season.
Jenny McFee introduced the swim team and her two seniors, Brittany Borden and Jake Messurvy.
Both Borden and Messurvy also were recognized as captains.
Borden received the academic award with a 4.059 GPA.
Emily McFee and Messurvy were acknowledged with Team Spirit Awards, while Erica Landry and Allison Smith were dubbed Most Improved.
Cheerleaders also were honored, as it was announced every senior was a UCA All-Star this year.
Amanda Reider was honored with the Scholastic Award and Spirit Award, while Heather Byford was given the Leadership Award.